Journal Article

Spanning the Western Hemisphere: Free Trade Area of the Americas

Abstract: Thirty-four countries in North, Central and South America and the Caribbean would make up the Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA) if negotiations currently under way are successful in establishing this new trading bloc. While the FTAA would bring a number of benefits to its members, the economies involved differ greatly in development and structure, and finding consensus will be challenging.

Keywords: Economic conditions - Latin America;

Access Documents


Bibliographic Information

Provider: Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Part of Series: EconSouth

Publication Date: 2003

Volume: 5

Issue: Q1

Pages: 14-19